Skip to content

Damn you SGU.

October 1, 2012

Anyone who has kept up to date with this poorly written blog will know that I have become somewhat disillusioned with the skeptical movement/community or at least the worth of the movement/community. But after listening to the most recent episode of The Skeptics’ Guide To The Universe and especially the interview with Pamela Gay, I have had a slight change of heart. I am not in a position where I can quote them directly, because I am writing on my phone, but the general idea, I think, was; it is important to support whatever you are passionate about, it is not enough just to retweet something or get frustrated at crap online. You don’t have to try change the world, just support, in anyway you can, the things you are passionate about, whether it is donating to your favorite group or organisation, promoting skepticism and critical thinking, or even starting something up yourself, because we may raise certain people up in our heads as the people in power or with some influence, but they are just like you and me, they may be better at it than us, but we can do these things ourselves. So, damn you SGU for being inspirational, rational, and for changing my perspective. I am passionate about skepticism and critical thinking, I think the real world is too magnificent to have it tainted by superstition, and I think that we, as a species, have come too far to be dragged back into the dark ages by superstition and pseudo science. I still stand by most, if not all, of what I said in other posts, but my way of looking at those problems has changed. I feel like skepticism is fighting an up hill battle, against a brick wall, but giving up is not going to help anything or anyone. As long as there are conspiracy theorists, pseudo scientists, and frauds trying to take advantage of the grieving, desperate, and naive, there needs to be people who stand up to the frauds. Even if the ‘victims’ sometimes don’t appreciate the help and will defend the person, people, or organisation that is ripping them off, we still need to stand against the fraudsters or there will be no public voice calling bullshit on their claims. So I will continue with Waterford Skeptics in the Pub as long as there is a need for it or till someone better equipped is prepared to take over. I have wanted to be involved, in one way or another, with the skeptic community for some time, and especially after listening to The Skeprechauns podcast, my favorite podcast, I have wanted to get involved in the Irish skeptical community, which I thought was nonexistent. So here is my chance to get involved and I may not change the world but I can at least contribute in a small way to something bigger and more important than me. I also have plans to donate or at least purchase a t-shirt from The Skeprechauns site ( men’s medium size, black, The Skeprechauns logo, for anyone generous enough to treat me ;)) . I am not saying everyone needs to start a Skeptic in the Pub group or donate to a group, because I know times are financially hard, but if you are passionate about critical thinking and skepticism, try do something to get involved someway and promote critical thinking in your day to day life.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. David James permalink

    That’s hilarious! I listened to this last night and was going to ask you if you listened to the SGU! I’m pleased to hear your inspired again.

Leave a Reply

